Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Raises License and Registration Fees

by Hank

Beginning September 1, 2009, the state of Florida is raising certain fees for driver license and motor vehicle services. Some of these fees are going up by almost 100%, and I know that a lot of military members have their vehicles and drivers licenses through Florida. You can see the full list of new and old fees on their website.  These new fees were established by the Florida Legislature as part of the state’s budget development process.

In Florida, you can renew your license, registration, and other documents like title reprints up to 90 days in advance of their expiration dates.  So, you get still get your documents at the old lower rate for the next couple of weeks, but you need to hurry.  Thanks to Kate at The Paycheck Chronicles blog for the heads up on the changes.

To review the Department’s most recent Benchmarking Analysis in which Florida’s operating costs and related fees were compared to several other participating states, click here.

Fee Type

Current Fee Amount

New Fee Amount

Year Last Changed

DRIVER LICENSE FEES

Original Class E

$27.00

$48.00

1989* does not include 6 to 8 year change

Original/Renewal Commercial Driver License

$67.00

$75.00

1989* does not include 6 to 8 year change

Original School Board Commercial Driver License

$27.00

$48.00

1989* does not include 6 to 8 year change

Renewal Class E

$20.00

$48.00

1989* does not include 6 to 8 year change

Renewal School Board Commercial Driver License

$20.00

$48.00

1989* does not include 6 to 8 year change

Replacement license

$10.00

$25.00

1990

(ch. Law 90-132)

MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEES *

     
License Taxes-motorcycles

$10.00

$13.50

Jul-1963
(ch. Law 1963-528)

Antique automobile

$7.50

$10.25

Jul-1967
(ch. Law 1967-187)

Automobiles (less than 2,500 pounds)

$14.50

$19.50

Jul-1983
(ch. Law 1983-3)

Automobiles (2,500-3,500 pounds)

$22.50

$30.50

Jul-1983
(ch. Law 1983-3)

Automobiles (3,500 or more pounds)

$32.50

$44.00

Jul-1983
(ch. Law 1983-3)

Trucks (less than 2,000 pounds)

$14.50

$19.50

Jul-1983
(ch. Law 1983-3)

Trucks -based on weight (2,000-3,000 pounds)

$22.50

$30.50

Jul-1983
(ch. Law 1983-3)

Trucks -based on weight (3,000-5,000 pounds)

$32.50

$44.00

Jul-1983
(ch. Law 1983-3)

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: